Skip to main content

Rankin Arts Photography - Digital Photography Certificate Program

Digital Photography

Our more goal-oriented students often decide to pursue a CSU Digital Photography Certificate. A certificate can be general, or with a Portrait, Fine Art, or Digital Imaging concentration. The requirements: 10 classes, (6 required and 4 additional), minimum 84 classroom hours, and a portfolio. Since 2008 over 50 photography students have earned certificates through our program. Once enrolled, you have two years to earn your certificate. Certificate orientations are held three times per year, at the beginning of each semester. You may also contact the director, Kenny Gray, for a personal consultation.


  • Digital Photography I
  • Digital Photography II
  • Lightroom I
  • Photoshop I
  • Creative Compositions: Classroom and Hands-On
  • Creative Flash Photography

“After being laid off during the recent housing down turn I decided to pursue more aggressively the art of digital photography, earning a Digital Photography Certificate with Columbus State University, Continuing Education in January of 2011. I now work professionally as a portrait photographer. On my own time I have gravitated towards fine art photography because of the challenge that it presents to create a style that is unique to the artist.”

–Ricky D. Kammenga